Low Riding in the “Mini Van”

Standard

Well, we finally did it! We are proud owners of a mini van. The little Corolla was getting a bit cramped so we decided to go for the family mobile. God made everything work out perfect. We put our corolla on Craigslist and received numerous calls. The people who ended buying the car wanted to get it checked out by their mechanic and they also needed to apply for a loan. Once all that went through, things moved very quickly. The same day our car was sold we found a beautiful Toyota Sienna thanks to our good friend Bert. He works for Powell Motors here in Portland (highly recommended if you are looking for a vehicle). Thanks Bert! It was one crazy day of selling our car and purchasing the new van but it all worked out well!

For more pictures of the Van go to:  http://danielgardnerphotography.wordpress.com/2009/01/03/our-new-car/

4 responses »

  1. Hey There! Oh how fun to get a new vehicle! I’m glad that you are enjoying it so much.

    As for the Spicy Peanut Chicken, I don’t have a recipe because I concoct it myself. I’m kind of a rebel when it comes to cooking and add my own things to the pot. Everything always turns out different, because I cook to my mood. I know, Weird huh? If you wanna try it out, here is my base for it, but really you can add or omit anything in it that you don’t like.

    I take a few boneless skinless chicken breasts and cut them into chunks. Then I cook them in a little oil, usually olive oil. I season them with onion powder a little garlic and some red pepper flakes and a tiny bit of salt. For the peanut sauce I take about 1 cup of super chunk peanut butter, add maybe 2Tbsp of oil, 2 Tbsp of soy sauce, a few dashes of cayenne pepper (add to your liking), and about 1 Tbsp of vinegar. Then I stick it all in a microwave safe bowl and nuke it for a minute or two until the peanut butter melts. The consistency should be creamy except for the big peanut chunks. Mix it up well and I pour it over the chicken. I also make my rice in a rice cooker, so it’s sticky rice. In the top there is a little steamer basket. I put all of my veggies in it. Carrots, broccoli, pea pods, anything you like really. That way they are nice and steamed and they are finished at the same time the rice is done. You can mix it all together like an Asian dish or eat it all separate. Either way it’s pretty dang good and super easy and quick.

    Hopefully my directions are easy for you. I hope you like it. Let me know how it goes.

  2. Nice looking family in a nice looking van! Looking forward to taking a family ride with you soon! Love, Mom and Grandma B

Leave a Reply

