Learning new things..

Standard

I like to be prepared and try to be organized. I also like to try new things and figure out how to do things cheaper as well. So I was googling snacks suitable for Justice’s age and I came up with a few good ones. I have been making his own “snack/trail mix” and changed that up a bit and then tried a few other new recipes I found online. This is how it went..

Snack Mix

Snack Mix

Put it in a sealed container and good to go!

Put it in a sealed container and good to go!

1 box of Kix
1 box of Goldfish Crackers
1/2 box of Cheerios
2 cups of cut up apples/apricots

Energy Bites

Energy Bites

1/2 c. of grated carrots
1/2 c. raisins
1/2 c. sunflower seeds
1/2 c. oatmeal
1/2 c. wheat germ
6 tbls almond butter
2 tbls honey
Mix altogether and shape small round balls.
This was really interesting to me, never have used wheat germ before and so I tried one just to make sure it wasn’t disgusting and they kinda taste like a peanut butter cookie!
Though I had a bit of an issue with making these… beware of your grater as it took my finger and made mincemeat out of it 😦

Lastly I tried my hand at homemade jello, looked easy enough but it didn’t gel, so I added more gelatin today to my juice fruit mix and we’ll see if it works out!??

Wanna be Bisquick Mix

Wanna be Bisquick Mix

This is how it works!

This is how it works!

I have been using quite a bit of bisquick mix for pancakes, scones and biscuits and figured I should make my own, so found a recipe that would work for both and threw that together and just wrote the instructions on the container! I got the recipe out of the Make-A-Mix book from the library and took the book back before I blogged.. oops.

You got some good easy kid friendly recipes?? Send them my way, always looking for something new, fun and cheap!

One response »

Leave a Reply

