Cooking is fun for me!

Standard

I sure enjoy eating a good meal. Most of my meals are pretty easy and don’t take alot of time and not too many dishes. I try to have fun on special holidays and do something fun, but doesn’t always happen. But for some reason I was super excited about Cinco De Mayo and was having a blast planning a menu. It turned out quite tasty, was more work than I normally put into dinner but worth it, the dishes weren’t so fun, but they are done and I will enjoy the leftovers tomorrow too!

Chipotle Steak Tacos- I get a taco beef cut at Winco and use Ortega Chipotle seasoning packet. Add onions, cheese, lettuce and I mixed some cilantro into sour cream which made it extra fresh and tasty!

Spanish Rice- Easy and so good, better than most restaurants I think as it has better flavor!

  • 2 cups long grain white rice
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 yellow onion cut into 1 inch chunks
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced or 3 heaping tsp garlic powder
  • 3/4 cup tomato sauce
  • 2 tsp sea salt2 3/4 cups of chicken broth

Add the oil to the pan and put heat on to medium high. Add the rice and saute until golden brownapproximately 10 – 15 minutes. Then add the onion and bell pepper and saute another 5 – 10 minutes. Add garlic and saute for a few minutes. Add the tomato puree, chicken broth and salt. Stir and turn heat up to high. Bring to a full boil while stirring. Continue to boil for 2 minutes. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

Refried Beans- I make a huge batch and freeze them so all I did was defrost them and heat them up.. score!!

I decided to make dessert which I don’t normally make! I have always wanted to make churros and saw a recipe and figured I would give it a go! They were tasty, not sure how accurate it was?

Plate of food!

He is such a good eater!

Dessert (not so pretty, kinda of looks like a hot dog.. haha)

Leave a Reply

