The Joys of Parenting

Standard

The ups, downs, highs and lows, we experience them all. Right now I am tuning into the Word as that is the only place for me to draw strength, encouragement and truth. I went up Sunday at church for prayer for my parenting, there are so many areas I lack but I would say Grace and Patience would probably be the top 2. Justice overall is an amazing kid, the issues he deals with right now are probably just as much my issue as they are his. I am trying not to be too hard on myself and trying to change but some moments I could kick myself in the butt. I wish I was more understanding, I can’t expect all I do from a 3 year old, my expectations are unrealistic. So again turning to the Word. Reading in Romans right now and generally read the Message version and right now the headings are “Trusting God” Developing Patience”…. little LOL moment and Thank you Jesus. I am also in the midst of reading a book passed along to me by my wise and fabulous friend Rebekah called Give Them Grace, Dazzling Them With the Love of Jesus, wow just barely into it and its opening up my eyes to a whole different vision and approach to how I am parenting!

Yesterday Justice started talking back like never before and I was quite flabbergasted, I am not quite sure what is happening, but it was almost so unreal. I actually had to walk about as I was trying so hard not to laugh. Normally my blood pressure would be sky rocketing and I would be in the other room sobbing out of frustration, not handling things right and about to pull out my hair. I thought well I was prayed for Sunday, asked for grace and patience and WA LA.. here is my trial handed to me on a silver platter carried by my 3 year old. Jesus was right there with me. Today going through some of the same things with him (with a girl I am watching here at the house too), had to get Daniel on the phone as I needed some back up. I thought well time to read the Bible during nap time. Couple verses came to mind and stuff I read jumped out at me.

Passage James 1:2:

2 -4Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.

In a different translation it says Count It All Joy.. really Paul, I am suppose to count this stuff all joy, yep indeed thats what I should do. Knowing my end result is going to be beautiful, I will press through!!

Passage Romans 4:4b,5

4b,5  But if you see that the job is too big for you, that it’s something only God can do, and you trust him to do it—you could never do it for yourself no matter how hard and long you worked—well, that trusting-him-to-do-it is what gets you set right with God, by God. Sheer gift.

This job of raising up my son and daughter is way to big for me, glad I have Jesus by my side to see me through!! Also having a team of great Moms around you to glean wisdom from, pray for you and get advice is so helpful and valuable.

*If you live in the area and go to our church Living Hope, if you ever have the chance to be prayed over by Joe and Judy Tanner, its a beautiful thing. I have gotten to meet with Judy once regarding parenting and I tell you, she is an amazing and wise woman, God has gifted her greatly!!

Leave a Reply

